English Department Association Events 2018-2019

Association-in-charge 2019-2020: Sanjukta Naskar, Ankan Dhar

Social Media Handle: https://www.instagram.com/eda.jdmc/

Activities:

The prize distribution ceremony of Atul Krishna Binodini Devi Creative Writing Competition was held on 19 September 2018. Nishtha Arora from Shaheed Bhagat Singh College (Morning) received the first prize. Shahana Khatoon and Himanshi Duseja received the second and third prize, respectively. Yamini Negi and Yashkirti were awarded Special Mention prizes. The students were addressed by the Principal, former Principal Dr Aruna Chakravarti and the judges of the competition, Ms Anjali Deshpande and Ms Saira Mujtaba.

On 12 September, the Atul Krishna Binodini Devi Creative Writing competition was organised. This year so genre was Chat Fiction. Students from various courses of the college, as well students from across institutions of Delhi participated.

English Hons II year students - Yamini Negi, Alveena, Sohini Hazra and Oishee Roy attended a panel discussion titled Is there a secret sauce to democracy?' at the India Habitat Centre to commemorate the International Day of Democracy on 10 September. The panel discussion was organised by the British Council. On the same day, Dr Antara Datta organised a screening of The French Lieutenant Swife for Eng Hons III students.

On 8 September the Association organised a Turncoat Debate for English Hons students. The topic was 'English Literature is now, Literature in Translation. The judges were Dr Sudha Upadhyay and Ms Ruchika Bhatia. The first prize was won by Bhavya Pathak and Gitanjali S Pillai, the second prize by Nitika Yadav and Ritigya Malik and the third prize by Oishee Roy. Muskan Tyagi received a Special mention prize.

Mr Ankan Dhar organised a screening and discussion on the folk theatre form of Chhau for students of GE II year Text and Performance course on 31 September.

The students of the three years held elections amongst themselves to elect the

Student Office-bearers. Muskan Kashyap is the President, Yamini Negi is the Vice-President and Avneet Kaur is the Secretary of the Association. The Executive Members are Kritika Mahajan, Anahita Kampani, Shraddha Maggu and Muskan Malhotra.

On 30 August the Association organised a Freshers' Welcome for the English Hons I year students. The Principal and the Teacher-in-charge formally welcomed them to the department. Dr Antara Datta screened Beloved for the English Hons II year students on 28 August.

On 16 August the department organised a farewell lunch for Ms Rita Sinha, who retired on 17 August 2018.

Ms Tarini Pandey organised a screening of The Birdcage for English Hons II year as Drag as Subversive with reference to Funny Boy (Paper VI) in room 13 on 14 August 2018.





















